Daily Archives: July 31, 2010

Man, that’s different!

I’m working ont he WIP and it’s becoming a very different book than I’d envisioned originally. It’s a first draft. I’m trying something different, writing the story then dissecting it and revising. I know that means I’ll toss a lot. I hope it means I’ll discover something deeper than the superficial stuff I sometimes settle for.
It’s kind of fun to see where the characters take me.
My brother’s book reminded me of that fun. I’m glad. 🙂
I “watched” the RWA GH and RITA awards unfold on twitter.
#RWA10 was fun to read. The people I was rooting for didn’t win, but that’s ok. Just finaling in the contest is a huge honor. I have several books to get now.
RWA11 is in NYC. I’d love to say I’ll be there, but it’s a long shot. It’s usually around YB camp time, and YB camp is a must!
In a few hours I go to church. My church is going through some major changes right now. I’ve never seen myself as adverse to change, but I am balking at the changes. We’re shifting to home groups instead of church classes, and groups that have been together for a long time are being asked to split into multiple new groups.
I don’t want to lose my group. I love them and we’re not cliquey at all, and we meet at the church during Wed. night child care so people with kids can be there and not worry about a sitter (once upon a long time ago, that was me!), and at one point recently none of us wanted to actually lead the group. The way we do it is switch from week to week. If it’s in a home someone has to clean and get the house ready for company. I don’t know about all the people in the class, but for me that would be a HUGE task. And I don’t have that huge task in me during the school week. I don’t want to have company during the week. I don’t really like to have company all that often on the weekends during the school year! Meet for dinner or coffee elsewhere? I’m good. But that’s not what they want from us.
We’ve really focused on what’s good for non-believers instead of church being “all about me” but man, this is going to be tough. It’s strange because DH is far more open to the change than I ma, and that almost never happens when it comes to church.
I guess I need to trust that our ministers are doing what they feel led by God to do. We’re talking to the people in our group tomorrow, an I guess we’ll see what happens.
Interesting note: I didn’t realize how much this was hurting my heart until I wrote it out here. Yet another reason I love my blog. 🙂