Why I Will March

I will never say #NotMyPresident.

I understand the sentiment but do not embrace it.

I won’t say it because Donald J Trump IS my President.

I am a citizen of this great nation, and as such, this nation and its President belong to me.
That is why I will march.

Because I must join the voices of others to say racism is not acceptable, misogyny is not acceptable, the war against public education is not acceptable, vulgarity is not acceptable, bullying those who disagree with you is not acceptable, defunding Planned Parenthood is not acceptable, calling the media dishonest because they write and say things you don’t agree with is not acceptable, treating others as less than is not acceptable.

I do not march against my President.

I march against the ugliness unleashed by his words. I march against those who have embraced his nationalist speech and added white supremacy. I march against the idea that separation of church and state is a suggestion not a constitutional mandate. I march because we sit on the brink of returning to the age of back alley butchers performing abortions.

I march for my Muslim friends. I march for those terrified that they will be sent back to Mexico because they gave the government their names when the Dream Act started. I march because climate change is real. I march because deregulation leads to corruption like the housing crisis where so many lost their homes. I march because I shouldn’t have to carry my birth certificate to use the bathroom. I march because creationism doesn’t belong in a science textbook. I march because facts are facts. So yes, I will march.

I will do so in peaceful protest against policy and speech, but I do not march against the man.

I march because the constitution says congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion or prohibiting the free exercise thereof, or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the government for a redress of grievances.

I march because I must.

Leave a Reply

