Good Eats: LCHF

I thought about skipping this post. Talking about it might cause me to think about it too much and throw me off track. 

But that’s stupid because I think about it all the time anyway.

If you’ve known me for more than five minutes, you know my weight…fluctuates. 

I’ve been living a low carb lifestyle again since the end of April and I’m close to 40 pounds down. 

I don’t lose weight super fast on low carb like some people do, but I can lose a little and maintain easily.

My body does not handle sugar. Not even a little. 

I know people who say the key to weight loss is simple. Calories in, calories out. Those people are so very wrong.

Even knowing what works for me–LCHF (low carb, high fat)–I still struggle. Easy is the last thing it is. But it’s easier knowing what works for me.

I was worried about the move, about the stress of living apart from Brian, about the craziness of the schedule that included constant trips back to Wichita Falls. I was worried because I’m a stress eater and my stress foods of choice are ice cream, chocolate and mashed potatoes, all of which make me gain weight if I even look at them.

But, so far, it hasn’t been a problem. (Knock on wood!)

I like the LCHF lifestyle, so it works for me, and I feel better when I stay away from sugar and foods that turn to sugar after eating them. 

The State Fair is coming up. It won’t be the first time I’ve gone to the Fair as a low carb eater, but it is the first time I’ve been living the lifestyle, not just on a diet. On diets you cheat. In a lifestyle, you don’t even think about it. I guess this year I’ll be turning away from fried foods r us and instead embracing turkey legs, barbecue and veggies. 😊 

The LCHF Facebook group and Pinterest have been invaluable. 

If you’re interested in low carb, feel free to ask questions. You can look at all the research on Atkins, Keto and LCHF with a quick Google search. I’ve been challenged about LCHF a few times on my Spark People page. I always say the same thing. When I started this in April I was on a prescription strength antacid, I was anemic, my blood pressure ran a little high and my cholesterol was high. Within two weeks of starting LCHF I no longer needed the antacid. By the end of July my blood pressure was perfect and my cholesterol was fine. My anemia was long gone. 

For me LCHF is the only answer. 😊

2 responses to “Good Eats: LCHF

  1. It really works…unless you have gout. Then you are in trouble.

Leave a Reply

