An Open Letter to All My Former Photographers

Holy cow.

It’s a rebuilding year at my new school, so that means I’m the one taking photos right now. It’s been years since I was the one shooting the photos, deciding what mode to shoot in, bending down to get different angles and turning the camera to get verticals and  horizontals all while also looking for the cool story, the great frame, the awesome emotion, the leading line.

I knew it was hard, and yet you always rose to the challenge, sometimes shooting three and four events after school because you wanted to make sure we had the coverage. 

This week that’s me. And ohmygosh you guys, I know you’re young and full of incredible energy, but I don’t know how you did all that!

Okay, that’s a lie. Today I was deleting down photos I took of summer band, the New Ranger Rally and more when I found some of those great photos that make you go YES!, it was totally worth it. That’s a big reason why.

Still, I just want to say thank you. Thank you for the time and artistry and excellence you demanded of yourselves and your fellow photographers. I appreciate it more than ever.

AND in a cool twist, one of my former photographers was actually at the community rally tonight at my new school, and she got a picture of me taking photos. Lol! Thanks Bibi!

Leave a Reply

