Change

Comfort zones are far more encompassing than the word comfort suggests just like comfort food doesn’t begin to describe the heaven that is a batch of scrumptious homemade mashed potatoes.

Comfort zones are happy places. They’re places filled with love and acceptance and belonging. Comfort zones can be the ultimate, the tip of Maslow’s pyramid, the real deal.

My comfort zone was firmly set in WFISD and RHS and Wichita Falls and Colonial Church for the last 22+ years. And then Leadership Cohort changed everything. I don’t think that’s the way the cohort is supposed to work, but for me it did.

This little niggling voice started in the back of my mind saying go explore. But I ignored it.

I’m glad I did. God is perfect in his timing. My friend Sandra Lea says that all the time and she is so right. 

Since 2008 our lives have been a constant sea of change. From empty nesters to ON moving in ❤️ to our daughter moving across the country and ON getting married to becoming Auntie and Uncle to ON’s first and second 😍😍😍 to becoming grandparents 😍😍😍 everything has changed.

Now I’m sitting here drinking my coffee in my Boat Club Road apartment and I’m so excited for what life has in store. There an education revival taking place in my new district. (More about that at a later date), we’ve downsized significantly and can live a simpler life when the house at home sells, we’re right up the road from the Dallas Stars. 

But for all the excitement there still some terrifying uncertainty. I think that’s a good thing. We’ll see. 

Leave a Reply

