Wherein I venture into TMI Territory

I thought about starting with one of those clever little stories that make people laugh, but ditched that idea to get straight to the point.

I started menopause early. As in before 40. As in almost a decade ago. (If the word menopause freaks you out, stop reading now because EVERYTHING that follows is about that.)

Dr. said it was unusual but since I was healthy, no big deal.

And I bought that. I mean I had an 18-year-old daughter at home going through all those preparing to leave the nest growing pains. Who the heck cared about a little menopause grumpiness added in for good measure?

The next year I was fumbling through empty nest syndrome AND recovering from a nasty injury. A few extra tears meant nothing.

I’ve gained and lost 140 pounds–70 pounds TWICE–since then. (I’m on the losing side of things again now. It’s Low Carb High Fat for life where I’m concerned from now on. Feel free to eat cake in my presence. I’ll be snacking on a ribeye and maybe a cheese stick.)  I’ve always been a yo-yo dieter, but dear God in Heaven menopause made things crazy.

I gained enough weight this yearbook season to make yearbook distribution a symbolic birth. No kidding. My ability to hold tight to positivity in the face of darkness has switched to snarky sarcastic bitter don’t-mess-with-me-I’ll-go-Mommy-effing-Dearest on you. I’m usually pretty good about keeping those moments to myself….but sometimes it ekes out, and boy is it ugly.

Hot flashes….ha. More like dips into the Lake of Fire.

Simmering rage….uhm…never mind.

Stress…I used to love stress. I used to LIVE for those double deadline computer crashes, teenage drama, come on guys let’s have a dance party moments. Let’s just say there’s been a flip in feelings there. And OhMyGod if a kid gets mouthy, something I used to laugh off…no. Just no. I have to literally bite my tongue.

Exercise helps. Low carb helps. Escaping into a great book helps. Large groups of people make me want to rip my hair out. Large groups of rude people nearly send me over the edge. This year it’s like I’m not even me.

I’m giving it three months to get better, and if it’s not better, I’m going to the doctor and saying give me the hormones who cares about the side effects. It’s that or take up daily doses of tequila. Never mind. Tequila gives me hot flashes and God knows if I have more of those I’m liable to find out that X-Files about spontaneous combustion was actually based on fact.

So pray, people, pray. Something has to change.

 

 

3 responses to “Wherein I venture into TMI Territory

  1. Hormones do help. I had a hysterectomy a few months before I turned 40 & have been on hormones ever since. I tried to do without once, but I couldn’t stand breaking out in a sweat every time I walked down the hall at school & D couldn’t stand the house being “as cold as a meat locker!”

  2. Becky Lucas Elam

    One of my favorite things about you, dear friend, is your ability to remain calm and see the positive aspect of any situation. I’m sorry you’re struggling. I’ll down some extra shots of Patrón Tequila for you.

  3. Believe me you’re doing the right thing by exercising, eating low carb and reading a book that takes your mind away. I would avoid large crowds unless you just want to be among people. I am an entertainer and a writer and even though I enjoy standing on stage, afterward, I seek to find a place where I can be alone with myself or just a few people that I can trust with who I really am.
    I didn’t take hormones, but I did go to the health food store and asked if they had some kind of homeopathic tablets for going through menopause and they helped me tremendously.
    Shalom Aleichem,
    Patricia

Leave a Reply

