Where Do You See Yourself in Six Months?

question-63916_640I asked a friend that question yesterday. It’s an important question.
A question I ask myself regularly. I don’t want to tread through the water of life. I want to live intentionally, with a purpose. I want to hold on to my dreams and to work to achieve them.
I used to sell Mary Kay, and I remember listening to this National Sales Director on a tape. She said every day she went to work she was surrounded by friends who said, “I’m so tired,” “I’m so tired,” “I’m so tired.” And one day she said, “Well, I’m not.”
She was hugely successful at that job and went on to be hugely successful with Mary Kay.
I love those stories. I love that successful people have so many traits in common. Living intentionally is one of them. Having a goal is another. Surrounding yourself with people you want to be like is another.
The thing about success: I don’t have to reinvent the wheel. Successful people like to share their success stories.
That’s a lesson I did with my seniors this year. I don’t know how many of them actually followed through with the end of the lesson, but I had them make a five-year plan and then I told them to find someone who was where they wanted to be and ask them how they got there.
Success isn’t a secret.
It’s also not one size fits all.
Knowing the answer to the question where do you see yourself in six months (1 year, five years…) helps measure success.
I don’t sell Mary Kay any more, but the lessons I learned listening to the success tapes have been invaluable to my life.
Do you have a plan? A vision? An answer to the question?
I highly recommend the book The Success Principles: How to Get From Where You Are to Where You Want to Be. It’s easily one of the best books I’ve read.
Can you answer the question where do you see yourself in six months (1 year, five years?)
I can.
And I’m going to live intentionally to reach those goals.

*********
Don’t forget to sign up for my author newsletter here. I only send the newsletter out when I have new releases, so no more than once a month!
legs 1600by2400smallAngel Eyes, The Guardian Book 3 releases July 20!

Leave a Reply

