Thinking About Low Carb?

Dear low-carb dabbler,

Welcome. I don’t blog a lot about this now, but trust me, I’m a good source. I lost 70 pounds over the course of two years using Atkins first and then changing over to a general low-carb lifestyle.

And then six weeks ago I fell off the wagon big time. The first fall was Valentine’s Day this year. I thought I could handle it. And maybe I could if I hadn’t continued “cheating” every once in a while. For the last six weeks it hasn’t been every once in a while, it’s been almost all the time. The only thing I kept up was NO bread–thank GOD.

Because I’m telling you if I had eaten bread, I’m not sure I could be on day four of induction…again

I keep telling myself it’ll be okay. And it will be. But…ohmigod DAY 4 SUCKSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS!

I tried to take a nap and saw visions of ice cream.

I realize suddenly I am really screwing this up this time. There is a secret to success when you start low carb living. The secret: find the induction food you love and stock up.

I didn’t do that this time and it’s killing me.

I’m definitely buying pepperoni when we go to the store. It’s a great snack. And cheddar cheese. Cheddar is your friend…usually.

I’m not going to eat the potato chips DH has stashed on the top shelf of the pantry even though they’re taunting me, turning my kitchen into something akin to Dante’s fifth circle of hell. I’m going to hand tough because I know in a week or two I’ll be able to sit with my friends while they eat whatever they want and I won’t crave it all.

So, know this. It won’t be easy, but it will be worth it. For some people the weight comes off fast. For me it was relatively slow, but it DID come off.

If you’re looking for recipes, check out Linda’s Low Carb site.

AND get the Atkins book. It’s worth it.

And if you need a cheerleader in your corner, feel free to comment here or over on twitter @marybethleeybnp.

Big shout out to my cousin Karleta for reminding me I can do this and to author Susan Gable who invited me to get back on the low carb wagon this week on Facebook.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

