New Characters

I sat down and read the first 2k of the new manuscript and knew I had a problem. My main character was all over the place. SHE didn’t know who she was. She was just there on the paper tagging along because her book was next.

Enter spotify.

Yesterday I worked on her a lot, trying to mold her into the person she needed to be with goals and motivations. Hopefully with the right attitude to lead to great conflict with the hero.

Thanks to Miranda Lambert, Pistol Annies, Cassadee Pope, Kacey Musgraves and the Dixie Chicks, she’s quite the spitfire.

Thanks to Susan Gable’s Character Motto, I found her tone of voice: Mama said “Catch more bees with honey.” I figured squish the damn bee with my shoe. If I miss and it stings me, at least I down fighting.

Thanks to Scrivener, I’ve got the main character sketches done and an opening.

Tonight I love this book. Tomorrow…well, if you’re a writer, you know how that goes. 🙂

 

FYI: The next Sharlene Gallagher Guardian book is out with beta readers. Not long until Angel Eyes hits the market!

 

 

Leave a Reply

