A rail against standardized testing pre-K and Kindergarten

I’ve been reading a lot about the push to test pre-K kids. We already have standardized tests for kindergarten and first grade. All I can think is pre-K kids should be taught not to hit each other just because someone takes your toy, not to wipe your snotty hand in your neighbor’s eye and to (please!!!) wash your hands after you potty. It seems like pre-K would be about learning and story telling and using real words and fun NOT bubbling. In kindergarten I played a lot. I learned about “stranger danger.” My kindergarten teacher would’ve actually liked standardized testing, I figure. She threw my color page away because I colored the people purple. She told me people weren’t purple. I tried to explain about the purple people eater, but she still tossed the paper. I think she might be running the show over at Pearson these days. In first grade I learned to sing the National Anthem, Yankee Doodle Dandy and Oh Susannah. I also learned how to read, but not until late. I was the only one in my class in Minnesota not reading. A test didn’t tell my teacher that I couldn’t read. A book did. And she didn’t test me to get me to read. She taught me to read using vocabulary and phonics. As far as standardized tests go, in elementary and junior high we had a national norm test. I sucked at math and rocked the reading and writing. Senior year we were a test for the exit level exams that were to come, but those tests were about making sure you didn’t graduate if you didn’t have a basic skill set. I wonder what’s wrong with all these politicians that they keep buying into the idea that testing babies is a good idea? I mean they made it to political office. They get a great pay check and great insurance. They learned to share, to be polite (okay, maybe not), to keep snotty hands out of their friends’ eyes and (hopefully) how to wash their hands after they paid a visit to the potty. They might have even colored purple people for purple people eaters. They read and they are usually eloquent speakers. They made it through the gauntlet of higher ed, often with advanced degrees. Most are my age or older, which means they did all this without testing, and they did it all successfully. Does anyone else wonder about this?

 

Leave a Reply

