Choices

We’ve been talking a lot about choices in my class these days. About how you get to high school, and you can’t do everything, especially these days with eight classes. It made me remember back to when I first started this blog in 2005. I remember being so angry because I thought the whole Bring Home the Bacon, Fry it Up in a Pan, Never Let You Forget You’re a Man mentality I’d grown up with that said you can definitely have it all without giving up anything was a big lie.

All these years later I’ve learned it’s not exactly a lie. But the definition of “having it all” changes over time.

“It all” for me means learning to make choices. It’s not easy to give up something you want, something you enjoy.

If I’m going to write though, something has to give. There are only so many hours in the day, and at least six of my hours have to be devoted to sleep or I’m comatose instead of rockstar in the classroom, not to mention my fuzzy brain means I can’t tell a verb from an adjective and that’s a bit of a problem for a writer.

Soooooo I’m making choices.

It’s not easy.

Tonight I gave up the Olympics, Facebook, twitter and NewsHour.

I chose walking the dog, dianeravitch.net, KFDX local news at 6, dinner, coffee, spotify, my office, and new words.

I’ll watch the Olympics on video later. I know who won, and I missed the short program anyway.

You can’t do it all, but you can have it all. You just have to decide what “it all” is.

 

Image

Liza Jane and Grady, WIP

 

Leave a Reply

