Stop Whining, MB!

It’s so funny. I had all these plans. I had a schedule a map everything was written on that all pets calendar. My writing I was set. I just spent two months getting books ready so I can publish August 25. And that was that. I had a plan for September and October and November and December. Teaching wasn’t going to get in the way of publishing. I wasn’t going to sacrifice my classroom time for the riding time. I had it all planned out. And then the little twinges in my arm changed to something different. The chiropractor fixed the first problem. It changed into another, worse problem. And then that changed into something pretty horrific that involves my arm feeling like it’s trying to split away from the rest of my body. Using a computer was out of the question. I could no longer lift my left hand enough to use the computer. If I did I paid a huge price for 24 hours following. I sat in doldrums sulking over my poor, poor health. I’m pretty darn good at sulking, let me tell you. 
I spent a lot of time saying poor me, poor me and crying. I’m pretty good at crying too. I didn’t used to be. I don’t know what happened. It’s like I forgot about looking for solutions and sat thinking all the time about the problem. 
That changed with my former editor Emma. She wanted to know if I was participating in this year’s NaNo. My initial response was no. Absolutely not. She asked why, and I told her my whiny story about the arm injury from hell. Instead of listening to my complaint, she came up with a solution. Dragon dictation. She was right. It’s working like a charm. I hand write my novel pages. And then I speak them into Dragon dictation. It’s been a lot of fun and a lot of funny. You would not believe the words Dragon dictation thinks I am saying. Today there were many things said about gay men and about I see and about some other things I’m not going to actually put down in real writing; let’s just say Dragon dictation has a dirty mind. And that’s saying something since my alter ego writes some pretty steamy romances. Tomorrow, maybe I’ll go ahead and post the blog as Dragon dictation takes it from my speaking. That could be a lot of fun. Or rather embarrassing. I don’t know. I do know that I’ve been able to write and write and write today with no problem. I hit 5K words for the first time since August. I’m so glad to be back in the writing saddle. It’s been a long drought of words and that schedule I started this year off with…well it’s gone to the wayside. I’m okay with that. For now. 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

