What I’ve Been Doing

August 2013

August 2013

NEW! Sign up for my newsletter. The newsletter won’t come out more than once a month, it’s delivered straight to your email, and it will include all the information for my new releases so you don’t miss them. The subscription form is located on the top right column of the blog above my avatar, or you can click on the link above.

The last week has been one HUGE writing push. I’ve finished the copy edits for Sharlene Gallagher, Book 2: An Angel Earns Her Wings, and I’ve finished a round of edits on one of my romances. I’ve started the repackaging process on my print books, and I’ve made some business decisions.

I never really looked at my writing as a business, and that was a huge mistake.

Thank goodness for industry professionals like Kristen Lamb whose WANA blog helped me see the light. No more writing under three names. My YA and Inspirationals will now be published under the name Mary Beth Lee. The romances will continue under Liz Lee. I can handle publicity for two, but three…no way.

I’m working on a business plan now thanks to The Indie Voice book, The Naked Truth About Self-Publishing. If you are self-published and looking at your writing as simply craft OR you’re interested in self-publishing, get this book first. The Indie Voice authors walk you through their plan step-by-step, and the information is invaluable.

I’m working on increasing my word count thanks to the inspiration of critique partner Karen Kelley and The Artist’s Way challenger/former student/current colleague Scotty Coppage.

It’s been an interesting 18 months. Our empty house filled up, we built a house, we got a dog (and I love her so much) and our full house emptied. In the midst of that, I wrote, but I wrote into the mists with no real plan. That’s changed now. More on that later. I’ve got work to do, so I’m signing off!

One response to “What I’ve Been Doing

  1. What’s it like to be an empty nester 3 times over? Dd thrice, and whatever you call your other one now! I don’t know that that’s a done deal yet. For this one, I hope so since she wants It so bad; for the rest of the family, I’m not sure.

Leave a Reply

