JCamp 101

I don't have the kids' permission to post pics of them to my blog, or I'd have a pic of them working!

I don’t have the kids’ permission to post pics of them to my blog, or I’d have a pic of them working!

Yearbook camp at Rider this week has been amazing. It’s not just my kids. I invited all the area schools. Iowa Park, Hirschi and Graham have been in the room with several of my kids. So far we’ve learned more about story and photography and how to critique. Tomorrow we start design and the kids will be get busy working on actual products they can take back to their rooms for use in their yearbooks and papers. MSU Professor Bradley Wilson and two of my former students–one in training to be an adviser, one already an adviser–are there helping. It’s AMAZING. Two yearbook companies have donated supplies. Balfour brought adviser gifts and fun stuff for the kids. Walsworth gave us food yesterday and brought supplies. My rep Brian would have taught, but photo ran over on time, which was totally cool because the kids learned so much. He’s coming back Thursday to help instead.

My vision when I decided to do this camp was to improve scholastic journalism in the area and to let everyone know about TAJE, our state J organization.

The reality is so much more than I ever could’ve imagined.

Yep, I love my job. #

 

 

2 responses to “JCamp 101

  1. I’ve wondered how your week was going. Sounds like perhaps better than planned. I like what you’re doing and may talk to you about doing one for our area next year. I am learning that I know quite a bit, and I love sharing it. Good luck on the rest of your workshop!

    • I HIGHLY recommend this kind of regional workshop. I hope ours next year is even bigger, but not too much bigger. We’re able to give a lot of individual attention to students and they’re all excited about what they’re learning. 🙂 It’s good because the students are getting a little bit of everything involved in the pub process.

Leave a Reply

