Need Fantasy Recommendations

Ok, maybe my love of fantasy goes all the way back to Star Wars. I raised DD on those movies. Do movies count?

Ok, maybe my love of fantasy goes all the way back to Star Wars. I raised DD on those movies. Do movies count?

I never planned on writing fantasy novels. Shoot, other than Arthurian Legend, Harry Potter and The Hobbit, I didn’t read fantasy. Fantasy was my brother’s realm. He’s the one who raved about The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy and Lord of the Rings. I’ve tried a thousand times to slog through Tolkien’s masterpieces and stopped around page 100 every time.

I’m not sure what changed. Maybe it was Karen Marie Moning. Or Jim Butcher. Or GRR Martin. I’m not sure. All I know is over the course of the last couple years I’ve gone from being a light reader of fantasy  to someone who reads fantasy constantly.

So I guess it makes sense that I started writing a guardian angel mystery series last year. And it makes sense that the more I write, the more fantasy elements show up. I can’t wait to share Sharlene’s next book with readers. It’s in copy edits now, so it won’t be long.

Do you like fantasy novels? If so, which are your favorites? I need a new series since who knows when book 6 of Song of Ice and Fire will be out and Dresden’s done for a year.#

*************

If you like my blog, check out my books. (YA as Elizabeth Lee and Inspirational as Mary Beth Lee)

2 responses to “Need Fantasy Recommendations

  1. Love Tolkien! I do not have hint of who you should read next for fantasy. I like some of the older sci/fi, tho… Ever read any Asminov?

Leave a Reply

