Weight Loss, Writing and Commitment

my weight lossIt’s been a while since I talked about my weight loss journey. And it really is a journey. There’s nothing fast about it. Nothing miraculous. It’s what’s worked for me.

I don’t eat sugar or flour or bread. At all. And I haven’t since the middle of March 2012 (other than my 11-day trip to Ireland and the UK).

Some people say that strict of an eating plan will fail. For me the opposite has proven true. Cutting it out completely makes it easy to follow.

If you want to know more about low carb, check out the Atkins book. It’s what I used. I promised myself I’d add cardio to the mix this week, because that’s what makes the heart healthy.

Here’s the deal, though.

I LOVE Zumba and the elliptical. I mean, I LOVE them. I love working so hard my shirt is covered in sweat. I love the way my heart kicks into overdrive and my breathing grows deeper and I can feel my lungs. I LOVE it.

BUT getting to the Y, even though it’s two minutes from the house…UGH. I wake up with the best intentions ever and then before I know it, it’s 10 p.m. and I’ve watched a million episodes of Criminal Minds or cleaned house or spent five bajillion hours on Facebook. My best intentions are not cutting it. If I’m going to work in the cardio, I’m going to have to commit, just like I’ve committed to the low carb lifestyle.

That commitment is what’s necessary for my writing, too. I can’t start the day with the best intentions and then waste the day on projects other than my books. My poor office gets used for blog posts and critiquing others’ work, but it’s not seeing a lot of new words making it onto the pages of my current manuscripts.

So I’m committing. Because just like with low carb, when you commit, when you say this is how it’s going to be and there aren’t any excuses, the results happen. #

 

 

8 responses to “Weight Loss, Writing and Commitment

  1. You go, girl. More power to you. May you succeed one day at a time, one step at a time, one bite at a time, and one word at a time. I’m there with you.

  2. Awesome job! 😀 68 pounds is evidence of an incredible job. My advice to you is, don’t beat yourself up if you fail for a day. It’s just a day. Look at what you’ve accomplished and keep pressing on. 😀

  3. I’m very proud of you, Mary Beth! Keep up the great work!

  4. awesome, do you eat fruit at all? what kinds are your favorite, what is your favorite low carb meal to make, I need ideas since I am not a big meat eater, I like a good hamburger meat doesn’t dominate my diet, tho Ilove dairy, especially whole milk and kefir. cheese is a close second. my carbs have decreased naturaly, I tried twice to stick to low carb and could only stick for like 3 months, but since taking vitad3 supplements it is getting easier and easier to keep the carbs down, not necessarily like atkins levels but darn close some days. I have signs of losing weight, looser clothes more energy can go longer between meals before getting hungry and not having the carb snack attacks like I used to, so lower carb eating (which means more fat and protein and fiber (from fruits, veggies nuts have it too)means less carbs and more buffered carbs in your stomach slowing absorption really do work for alot of people i notice better than low caloire, yikes, that is like screaming to your system famines happen prepare for it.

    • I eat berries and melon every once in a while, but that’s all right now. I eat a lot of flax (great in smoothies!). I have a lot of favorite low carb meals. I like to make crockpot carne guisada, cheeseburgers (without the bun), salads, eggs with bacon and spinach. I’m a huge fan of cauliflower mock mashed potatoes. Pinterest is INVALUABLE for great low carb/Atkins friendly recipes. I got Carbquick a couple months ago. It’s like low carb Bisquick. So far I’ve only used it a couple times. It was good, but I’m kind of worried about it sending me over the carb edge.

Leave a Reply

