Bonny Scotland

Saying goodbye to the hostel was no problem. I was sick that night, so I guess the room didn’t really matter. Besides you don’t go on these trips for the hotel. You go for the sights. even though I felt puny, I decided to focus on the fact that I was in Edinburgh. It was easy with sights like this:1 something different

Our first stop for the day was the castle. I could’ve stayed at the castle all day. There were so many interesting things to look at. The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards museum is there. You might know them because of their Amazing Grace on bagpipes that’s so popular. (Click the link and at least have the music playing in the background. Totally worth it.)

Mary Queen of Scots: crowned as a baby.

Mary Queen of Scots: crowned as a baby.

I walked around the royal rooms while at the castle and saw the Scottish crown jewels. It’s fascinating that they found a random wand that wasn’t supposed to be in the jewels when they opened them. I’m totally working that into a book one day.

Everywhere we went in Ireland and Wales people were excited because we were going

to get to see the Scottish Tattoo. I didn’t get the excitement. I mean, I’m not opposed to tattoos. I think they’re cool on other people sometimes. What was so special about Scottish tattoos? Come to find out the Scottish Tattoo is a

3. tattoo

military procession. I WISH we could’ve gotten to see it. Instead we just saw them erecting the seating for the event. That was pretty impressive.

We left the castle and made our way down the Royal Mile over to the Scot monument and tons of shops. It was beautiful 4 amazingsunny day. Everyone in Edinburgh walked around like they were in the middle of 100 degree weather. We soaked in the sun and sights and all the interesting performances on the square by the park and museums.

Scotland was so gorgeous. When I grow up I want to spend some major time in5 park the Ireland, Scotland, Northern England part of the world. The tour was great, but I want to be there for enough time to get it in my bones. I’m seriously in love with that part of the world.

 

We were scheduled to leave by night train that evening, so our wonderful guide scheduled us for a fun “Ghost Tale” walk with Adam Lyal. We made our way up the Royal Mile to to Witchery and met Adam. His fun tour was a combination of history and hilarity. We saw so much more of the area, learned about the history of witch executions and had more than a few laughs. 6 witchery

Emily was chosen as the witch in our group. She was a great sport!

Emily was chosen as the witch in our group. She was a great sport!

8 Adam Lyal 7 royal mile

 

 

 

 

 

At the end of the tour, it was time to head to the train station and the trip to London. This was the last thing I saw in Scotland. It sums up my thoughts perfectly:10 an appropriate end

The night train is always an adventure. It’s NOT comfortable, but it gets you from place to place while you’re sleeping, and honestly it’s better than international flying.  By this time my puny had turned into a cough. Ugh. I was ready to sleep no matter what. When we boarded the train Susan and I discovered our room was a handicap room, which gave us LOTS more space than everyone else in the group and put us right next to the bathroom. Everyone was jealous. A few minutes before the train left, we discovered our door wouldn’t latch. The porter told us we had to move rooms, and we were sad for about 10 seconds. Our room move:


11 upgrade

First Class. First Class on the night train means you have your own room and a blanket. It was awesome.

When I went to sleep I was happy. Coughing, but still happy. London was up next. I love London. Goodbye Scotland. I will return! #

*******

If you like my blog, check out my books on Amazon. I write christian fiction as Mary Beth Lee and Young Adult as Elizabeth Lee.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

