Gretna Green and Edinburgh

I don’t know when I first read a historical romance starring Gretna Green. When I found out we’d visit there on this trip, I was thrilled.

Gretna Green, Blacksmith's

Gretna Green, Blacksmith’s

The short stop was fun, but it was mainly for shopping.

I did get to take part in a whiskey tasting there, though. At that tasting I learned all whiskeys are not created equal. I’ll never be a whiskey drinker, but the sips I had there were amazing.

Sculpture

Sculpture

I thought this sculpture was perfect for the town.

After the short stop in Gretna Green, we were off to Edinburgh. It reminded me more of Paris than England or Ireland. That surprised me.

More like Paris than I expected

More like Paris than I expected

We went to dinner at Vito’s. We ate there both nights we were in town, and it was AMAZING!

One of the teachers on the trip wanted her students to try the local fare, so she ordered haggis. One of DH’s best friends from high school and college was on the trip. He was the only traveler from our town to try haggis. You can tell what he thought by the look on his face.Michael and Haggis

By the end of dinner, I started feeling puny. I didn’t realize it was the beginning of a cold from hell.

We stayed in a hostel in Edinburgh. It’s not an experience I want to repeat with students, but it wasn’t the end of the world either. Think camp when you’re a little kid. Those bunk beds that feel like you’re lying on plywood. That’s the hostel bed. BUT the rooms were clean, and they had their own shower/toilet…kind of like an RV bathroom. I was a little sad when I saw the IBIS hotel right across the street from us. I love IBIS.

But I wasn’t sad for long. We were in Edinburgh, how could I be sad?!

At Vito's in Edinburgh

At Vito’s in Edinburgh

2 responses to “Gretna Green and Edinburgh

  1. I didn’t realize that there was a hostel in Edinburgh. I tried to stay in them while I was there because it was cheaper, but I don’t recommend them either. They aren’t too bad, but B&Bs are more comfortable and not much more money. At least it was that way 8 years ago.

    I tried the haggis. lol! I probably wouldn’t eat it again unless I was in the mood for LOTS of spice (which I’m usually not).

    I loved Edinburgh. I spent a whole day at the museum where I happened to get a private tour. I think there was some sort of glitch in the tour scheduling so I got the guide all to myself. She had the same accent as Billy Boyd. It felt like I was walking around with Pippin’s sister. Totally awesome! 😉

Leave a Reply

