Grasmere: One of the Most Beautiful Places Ever

I should’ve known when we drove into town and saw everyone walking around with walking sticks that something was up.

When we drove into town we passed a cute “Elderly Crossing” sign, so I mistook the walking sticks for canes.

When we left Rydal Mount, Super Guide Paul asked if we wanted to take a short nature walk over to the town of Grasmere. Off we went.Grasmere201306190011

Looking back the nature walk really wasn’t all that far, but in the midst of it, I worried we wouldn’t all make it.

It quickly became apparent why so many people had walking sticks, but with views like these, how could we possibly want to ride over on a bus?

I will definitely go back to the Lake District in England one day. Grasmere is my second most favorite place in the world!#

Me and ON in Grasmere

Me and ON in Grasmere

Grasmere201306190013 Grasmere201306190014 Grasmere201306190020 Grasmere201306190019 Grasmere201306190018 Grasmere201306190017 Grasmere201306190016 Grasmere201306190015Scenes from the walk

*****

If you like my blog, check out my books! Now available in paperback and on kindle.

3 responses to “Grasmere: One of the Most Beautiful Places Ever

  1. Aww…just too short! I hope you had your hiking shoes on!

    • I ALWAYS have my hiking shoes on during these trips now. 🙂 Learned the hard way. My new most favorite places on earth: Ireland (especially the Ring of Kerry/Killarney areas), Grasmere–really the entire Lake District in England, Paris, London and Texas. OK, and Oklahoma, especially the Sulphur area. AND Minnesota, especially the Duluth area. AND California (hwy 1 and coming off the mountains). AND…shoot, I have a ton of favorites, and I still haven’t been everywhere!

      Mary Beth Lee also writing as Elizabeth Lee http://marybethlee.com

  2. I wish I’d had the time to go to the Lake District when I was in England. Why do these trips have to be so short? Your pictures are beautiful! The next time I’m there, it will definitly be on my itinerary. 😀

Leave a Reply

