The Ring of Kerry: I Left My Heart in Ireland

God’s Country. Ancient. Amazing.

1 First pic of Ocean and RocksThose were my thoughts as we reached the water on the Ring of Kerry drive in Ireland. I loved Ireland before. Now, it surpassed Paris.

The scenery here took my breath away and gave me chills. I could not believe how gorgeous it was. We were on bus full of people, half of whom were teenagers, and silence reigned for a moment when we turned the corner and saw this.

After quite awhile of breathtaking scenery, we stopped for the sheepdog 2 sheepdog demonstrationdemonstration. Our tour guide, Paul, told us he’d never seen it before, but he’d been told it was amazing. We learned to trust Paul.  The sheep and dog owner started the demonstration by telling the teenagers to think before they got a dog. He told them dogs need people, so don’t get one if you’re not going to be home. AND he told then to be aware of their space before they get a dog because Collies like his need lots of space and they’re super smart, so they need to be doing something all the time. Small space=small dog. Busy and gone all the time = no dog. Finally, he told them to never let someone else train your dog. He said YOU can go to training with someone else with your dog, but never to give the dog to someone else to train without you. I loved the demonstration, but I think his dog advice was worth the 5E admission.

Next we headed to lunch at the Scarriff Inn with Ocean views. 3 gorgeous 4 me and ON Paul made our reservations here instead of the place EF suggested because he said the ocean view was the best on the drive. I believe him!

5 Ocean 6 At the beachAfter that we made our way to the sea.

Thankfully, it was sunny. Cold still, but way better than the icy rain we’d experienced regularly up until now.

7 River at Sneem

After lunch we made a few stops, but my favorite was Sneem, Ireland. We were prepared for this quaint Irish village with a great Woolen Mill and other shops. What we got was the O’Sullivan Clan meeting. Wow! The place was packed. Security waved us into town and waved others out. Little O’Sullivans walked around in WANTED shirts with their pictures on them. Food carts were everywhere and the pubs were full. The river in Sneem reminded me of the river in Duluth, so I took a picture.

Finally we headed back to Killarney, this time through the Killarney National 8 Torc Waterfall at Killarney National ParkPark so we could hike up to Torc Waterfall. And by hike, I mean ouch. There are more steep hills in Ireland than anywhere I’ve ever been. Still, the view was totally worth it! One of the dads nearly died here, but as he started to fall off the side of the bank with a 12 ft. drop, he did some super human upper body jump that propelled his whole body forward. He lived. 🙂

The walk down to the bus from the waterfall was way easier than the walk up, so I was able to look around an enjoy the scenery instead of thinking DEAR GOD WHAT AM I DOING while trying to play off the whole out of shape, breathless thing I had going on.

9 Fae home 10 Fae in hidingI’m glad I could look around because this is where I got the magic. After this, I totally understood fae, leprechauns, fairy godmothers. One of these trees is hiding wood fold. I’m sure of it. The other is a fae home. Look at the ground around the trunk.

When we got home, we walked around Killarney window shopping. Tis was our last night in Killarney. Dublin was next. I was excited for Dublin, but I knew I’d be leaving my heart in Killarney. I think it’s still there! #

If you like my blog, check out my books. I write Christian Fiction as Mary Beth Lee (Grace is Enough, Letting Go) and Young Adult as Elizabeth Lee (Dead Girl Walking, Honor and Lies). New book trailer coming soon!

 

4 responses to “The Ring of Kerry: I Left My Heart in Ireland

  1. Looks like you had a lot of fun!!

    • So much! I love Ireland. I’ll definitely go back. Next time I go, I’m going to do a viking tour. I knew my dad’s family were Scandinavian, I had no idea they were Irish, too. And my great great grandmother on my mother’s side immigrated to OK during the potato famine.

  2. Jealous. I want to go to Ireland so bad.

Leave a Reply

