Peace: Love Wins

Today one of my Facebook friends commented on a post and it reminded me of a story a former student told. Her friend had passed away the year after they graduated. Before the funeral, the friend’s grandmother sat down with all the girls mourning and passed around her granddaughter’s picture, then said “You’ll always remember her like this. She’ll never hurt, never be sick, never know heartbreak. She’ll always be the laughing girl you see here. As you age and go through the pain life brings, she’ll stay exactly the same.”

My student said the words comforted her like nothing else could. Tonight, I’m going to hold on to that. And I’m going to remember that love wins.  At small group week before last someone said darkness isn’t the opposite of light, it’s the absence of light. We must be the light. Hate and anger destroy light. I refuse to hate. I give my anger to God.

#

Photo Used under creative commons license. http://www.flickr.com/photos/jamingray/421730278/sizes/m/in/photostream/

3 responses to “Peace: Love Wins

  1. Hi, I was browsing blogs and found yours. I really liked your idea about love winning. A similar idea came to me as I was praying about his. A familiar song came to thought from Brandon Heath. I thought you might like it. I posting the link to my blog post, just so you and others can view this video easily. Brandon Heath’s song is “Love never Fails.” I love it. http://wp.me/p2WjnV-3n

Leave a Reply

