Wow! I didn’t expect that! BYOD success

Today is J-1 we concluded the first of my 1s Amendment discussions. Without explaining the meaning of each of the rights, I have the kids give one of the six up. Then we split into right groups and debate and discuss. I give the kids a chance to choose a different right if they want. It’s fun. In the end, the kids always discover that the first amendment is all or nothing. THEY learn the lesson. I just facilitate the discussion. Like always that worked. THEN I lecture them on each of the rights given in the first amendment and a little of the history behind that right. This time I told the kids if they had an iPad, they could take notes on it instead. They asked if they could use their phones instead.

My initial reaction was no. This is a new class. It’s giant. I don’t know them well enough to tell the difference between texting and taking notes. They solved that problem by saying they would show their notes/audio/video files at the end of the lecture.
And so we started down this new path.

The kids were 100% attentive to my lecture. They typed in their notes, they recorded me, they continued to ask questions.

I was still reluctant. Until the end of class when they showed me their notes. HOLY COW! They had taken tons of notes, and they’d organized the information along the way. I didn’t have the kids take notes on paper before, so I don’t have anything to compare to, but the notes the kids took today were far more detailed than I usually see.

I’ll definitely try this again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

