Sometimes the Story’s Bigger Than the Work

Image by Clyde Robinson. Used under Creative Commons License. http://www.flickr.com/photos/crobj/2930997855/

I was horrified when I heard about the Sikh temple shooting in Wisconsin. My prayers go out to those affected. I hope the media can figure out a way to cover the story without implying the shooting would have been understandable had the temple been a mosque. I don’t think that’s what they mean to be saying but it’s sure coming across that way. Salam Aleikum. ***

At the mid-point of today’s writing I tweeted that my new normal was stuck between thinking what I’d written was genius and horrible. I was being silly, but usually that’s somewhat true. Usually I like a lot of what I’ve got on the page and hate a bit. Not so much this go around. Working on The Guardian Book 2 (Sharlene Gallagher), started fast because of Fast Draft. If you don’t know Fast Draft, I can’t say enough good things about it. (It’s a class run by Candace Havens. Look it up!) I finished a book draft in two weeks. Notice I said draft. I know some people can write fast and have something amazing at the end of that process. I wrote fast, have a great collection of plot twists and characters and an interesting story, but the magic isn’t there. I’ve struggled for a week trying to figure out what’s wrong. I broke down scenes, took notes, found all those repeat works and worthless verbs, but the STORY was missing. I killed Sharlene’s voice. That’s what I kept saying to myself. But FINALLY at the end of last night’s revising session, I found it. And I found the conflict that’s central to the theme of the book. It was there all along, buried in the words, hinted at from scene to scene. Jennifer Crusie calls that kind of thing the Girls in the Basement. It took me 10k words to finally see those girls! Hopefully revising will be easier now. When you work and rework and still know something’s missing in the story, it really messes with the ability to keep moving forward. At least it does for me!
I meet with my editors today. I guess it’s school kick off time and time for me to figure out how I’m going to write, stay healthy and advise. I know I can do it, but it’s going to take work.
If you’re a praying person, please pray for us this week. DH and I have a plan. On Thursday that plan might come to fruition. If you’re not a praying person, please send positive thoughts. ###
If you like my blog, I hope you’ll look at my books available in print everywhere and in eformat for kindle. I write YA as Elizabeth Lee (Honor and Lies, Dead Girl Walking: The Guardian Book 1) and christian fiction as Mary Beth Lee (Grace is Enough, Letting Go). Find out more on my Amazon author’s page.

2 responses to “Sometimes the Story’s Bigger Than the Work

  1. Mary Beth, you are an inspiration to the rest of it. I believe you can do anything you set your mind to. Isn’t it great when you and hubby are planning together?

Leave a Reply

