Red Pen Intervention: Self-Pub Editing

You know those posts that go around showing how researchers can give you parts of words and your brain can figure out what’s there? For some reason I didn’t realize that translated to my writing.

My day job consists of constantly editing and proofing. For some reason I thought that meant I could self-proof with no worries. WRONG. Even reading out loud I’ve missed a ton of stuff. Lesson learned. I MUST have a proof reader for my self-pub work. Now I have to upload corrected novels to Amazon. Proof I need to SLOW DOWN! Another example of just because I can doesn’t mean I should–and that’s a real issue with self-publishing for me. It’s so easy to submit the work without taking the time to let the work rest then return to it to make it the best it can be. I’m learning, though.

On the bright side, I’ve got the cover for my July inspirational romance, Letting Go. 

 

Coming to Amazon July 2012. An inspirational romance by Mary Beth Lee. Letting Go: A story of forgiveness, second chances and finding love that lasts forever. Triple Eight Ranch Book 1.

I’ve started working on the next Sharlene Gallagher book (YA by Elizabeth Lee). That Sharlene is a real character.

6 responses to “Red Pen Intervention: Self-Pub Editing

  1. I have the same problem. I want to be done, so I rush through self-editing. Then my critters find *so many* issues that I had no idea about >.<

    Good luck slowing down 🙂

  2. Glad to read this; I suspected the same thing that made me able to clip through that altered text so quickly (and proudly) would also be the brain “ability” that made my mistakes invisible…

  3. I wish you the very best on the coming out of your book and I look forward to reading it.
    Ciao,
    Patricia

    • Thanks Patricia! And thanks for linking over from the WANA TRIBE area. That’s such a neat idea. I like that we’re in a solitary profession but we aren’t alone!

Leave a Reply

