Honor and Lies is out!

In 1999 I finished my MA with a creative thesis and promptly filed the book away as done when it garnered some positive feedback from editors but never made the cut.

Welcome to 2011 and Smashwords.

Actually, I started at Amazon and kindle, but after a GREAT experience with the print program became a nightmare trying to format for the kindle, I almost gave up. I’m techno savvy when it comes to design. This formatting stuff was driving me crazy.

Instead of giving up, I turned to the almighty google and found smashwords.

LIFE IS GOOD!

First, if you want to self pub, get the free copy of smashwords style guide. It’s a lifesaver! Some claim they can reformat a book in less than an hour. It took me six, but I bet it’ll go faster now. I’m a kinesthetic learner, so I learn by doing. It’s always taken me a little longer to get things done right the first time, but after that, I’m usually good.

Second, you can’t edit enough. I mean SERIOUSLY! But don’t edit immediately. Give your eyes time to rest and your brain time to forget the story.

I’m so excited Honor and Lies is up! Hope you enjoy!

check it out

6 responses to “Honor and Lies is out!

  1. This was helpful. I’ve never heard of Smashwords. I’ll definitely check it out.

    • I’m glad. If you follow their guide EXACTLY it’s an easy process. Time consuming, but easy. I got a little impatient at the end and messed up, but it’s all working out now. I ❤ smashwords!

  2. Awesome! Good for you! I just bought it–can’t wait to read it!

  3. grandadfromthehills

    MB – my chest is swelling with pride after reading adrift set in an era of grey interest to me. Well written with an unique plot. This old feller is on the virge of tears. Thanks. So very much.

  4. grandadfromthehills

    MB – my chest is swelling with pride after reading a story set in an era of great interest to me. Well written with an unique plot. This old feller is on the virge of tears. Thanks. So very much.

    I wish font for this was bigger for iPhone…lol

Leave a Reply

