Love Your Neighbor as Yourself

Galations5:13 For you have been called to live in freedom, my brothers and sisters. But don’t use your freedom to satisfy your sinful nature. Instead, use your freedom to serve one another in love. 14 For the whole law can be summed up in this one command: “Love your neighbor as yourself.”[c] 15 But if you are always biting and devouring one another, watch out! Beware of destroying one another.

Today’s Crave lesson really hit home for me as we discussed. In fact, for the last seven weeks I’ve been on this real soul search.
My next door neighbor is young and loud and, well, completely different from me. WHen we started this World Harvest series, one of the challenges we talked about was sharing God every day, with everyone you come in contact with. Let me just say I wasn’t sharing God in any way with my next door neighbor. In fact, the only interaction we had was me giving him the stink eye if I had to go out in front yard and glare at him and his friends late at night/early morning because of their noise level.
Since that first lesson, I’ve prayed for God to help me show more of His light to others.
Last week, my neighbor and his friends woke me up, but something was different in my response. Instead of being angry, I was worried. When I went outside, I didn’t glower, I spoke. I asked if he was okay. His response was comical. First, he asked his friend if that was his neighbor talking to him, and then he said “yes, Ma’am. I’m good.” and then he apologized. 🙂
When I asked if he was okay, I was sincere. God’s changed my heart where my neighbor’s concerned.
A big part of that change comes from the fact that I work with young adults my neighbor’s age all the time, but I’ve avoided HIM, and he’s right next door. I can’t very well share God with the young man if my only relationship with him is adversarial.
It’s easy to stay at home with my Netflix and computer and TV. It’s easy to hang out with other believers and talk about God. But it’s not biblical to keep God to myself.
God’s been working on me in this area, and this lesson just pushed me more. I’m so thankful for Drew and Sara our leaders and for how God’s using them to touch our lives!

Next week is forgiveness. STRANGE since I just blogged about how God’s been screaming that word at me lately. 🙂

One response to “Love Your Neighbor as Yourself

  1. MB, you continue to amaze me. I remember our first meeting when you were scooting around on the floor in your quilted “jammies” and what a sweet, cute baby you were. You were so much fun and facinating.
    Today, I am even more in awe of how you have grown as a person, a professional, and a Christian. Now I find you challenging me and I just know that if Grandma V. could read your writing now that she would be shedding tears of joy. You truely are following her as she followed Christ. Please keep inspiring this old uncle of yours as our Lord uses you in his service.

Leave a Reply

