Disconnect, unconnect, pull the plug, shut it down

turn it off, close it, stop.
My name is Mary Beth Lee, and I’m a Facebook addict.
Or, more precisely,
a Farm Town, Pet Society Bejeweled Blitz addict.
It’s silly, really. here’s nothing exciting about the game. And often I find myself saying I’m so bored, why am I playing this?
My addictions came about around the same time I subscribed to cable Internet.
Suddenly, I was always connected.
The Internet has been a good thing for me, but I’m not sure if the good completely outweighs the bad.
This always connected, always on, always plugged in me isn’t nearly as productive as the B.I. (before internet) me.
I saw a political cartoonist on Slate pledged to disconnect for a year. He’s going to write about the experience when it’s over.
I don’t think I can commit to a complete disconnect, but I’m going to try an online limit this week, and NO Bejeweled Blitz. Wish me luck. I’ll report in next week.

Leave a Reply

