It’s been a long time…

We learned yesterday that our district is probably going to lose $8-$10 million in state funding for next year. It’s so scary. I’m glad I’m certified to teach English. And speech. And Tech Apps. And journalism.
And I’m glad I’ve been teaching for 16 years in the same school district at the same school.
It’s a scary time in Texas education. But it could be worse. Illinois is a disaster. New Jersey and Michigan and California are, too.

On the bright side…
I finished Karen Marie Moning’s Fever series today during lunch.
OMG. It’s beyond amazing. BUT you must read it in order or the character arc gets lost. You should definitely read the series!

4 responses to “It’s been a long time…

  1. Our board is trying to cut $5 mil and have managed to cut $2.5 so far. I’m hearing cuts in places like resource and tutoring, and 4 day weeks for HS to save money on buses. Teachers who are retiring won’t be replaced. And all at a time when this tough new test is coming along? Eek.

    • This is 15% of our budget. They’re going to have to make drastic cuts. This on top of the K-4 class size shakeup is not a happy thing. ANd you can bet the testing company isn’t getting axed.

      UGH!!!! I’ve heard it’s bad everywhere in Texas. https://marybethlee.wordpress.com/ If your success is not on your own terms, if it looks good to the world but does not feel good in your heart, it is not success at all.–Anna Quindlen

  2. I have the first in the series. I’ll give it a try 🙂

    • I listened to them. I think it makes a difference. I tried the Highlander series years ago and hated it. But while I was waiting on Shadowfever, I decided to give them a try again, this time in audio. Loved the first few, didn’t really love the last two, but I didn’t hate them either. The narrator’s voice is awesome!

      https://marybethlee.wordpress.com/ If your success is not on your own terms, if it looks good to the world but does not feel good in your heart, it is not success at all.–Anna Quindlen

Leave a Reply

