This is Why I Love Netflix

Foreign films aren’t going to make their way to Wichita Falls, but with Netflix, I have them at my disposal. I’m so glad. Nowhere in Africa won an Academy Award in 02, but I don’t remember people talking about it the way they did Life is Beautiful or Il Postino.

The movie is set in Kenya and instead of being one person’s coming of age story, it’s an entire family’s story of change, resilience, love, hurt, acceptance, strength. It’s a story about the Jews in World War II but somehow that’s almost secondary. It’s a study in feminism, but I don’t think that’s intentional. It’s a tolerance film without ever becoming preachy. If you have Netflix, I highly recommend the movie. It’s one I’ll never forget.

Leave a Reply

