Day 1: NaNo

I made my NaNo goal. Woo Hoo!!!!
It’s not exactly perfect, but I really like the dynamics and the characters. I re-read and worked some Cindy Dees pre-writing worksheets on the new story, Letting Go, this week about story questions and making sure each scene has several story questions that keep the reader turning the page. I know that, but re-reading the advice has really made it stand out in my mind, and that’s made it easier to make sure those story questions are there throughout the scenes, and it deepened an early conflict, but I didn’t realize it until I wrote my last words tonight.
If you’re not taking part in Harlequin’s So You Think You Can Write, WHY not?! One day in and I’m totally inspired. You can see more here.
Tomorrow’s SYTYCW challenge is a first chapter. I wrapped up a first chapter today on my NaNo book, but I don’t know if I’ll send that in or a different first chapter. I have all my books in my Dropbox, so I’ve got choices. Usually, I’d say go with something that’s been finished and edited, but the new book is a return to an old genre, so I don’t know. Decisions, decisions. At least the decisions are about writing. It’s funny how relieved I feel to actually be writing this story. I think I wondered if the stories had dried up to a certain extent.
If you’re participating in NaNo, friend me there. My user name is ymbl2000.

P.S. very sad that the Rangers just lost the World Series. Bummer.

Leave a Reply

