The List

I spent the morning trying to get marybethlee.com working right. I directed it to the test site and sent a shout out for help to customer support.
I kind of hated working on the site.
The last few mornings, I’ve written. It’s not my prime writing time. For whatever reason, maybe because when DD was young I conditioned myself, my writer brain kicks in between 8 and 9 p.m.
Used to that was no big deal. Getting by on six hours of sleep was no problem.
These days, not so much.
My goal this year is to have a set routine for work, writing and exercise.
Routine has never been my strong point.
Eons ago when DH and I went through pre-marriage counseling, his personality profile lines up perfectly with Jesus Christ’s.
Mine, hah. The minister said it was a good thing DH lined up with Jesus because I needed someone like that.
I didn’t have a bit of the “planner” in me.
(I took the True Colors test this summer and actually got 5 on that part, so I’m changing. 5 is almost 0. But it’s 5 times higher that what it used to be! One of my editors scored 36 on gold. My old superintendent said surround yourself with your opposites to find success. Good thing!)
When we first got married, DH tried to give me a list of things to get done. He said he thought it would help since we’d talked the night before and they were things I said I was going to do.
I tore the list up and threw it away. My feelings were so hurt!
Today, my work life is completely list oriented. I MAKE my editors develop daily, weekly and deadline lists. Before I talk to them, I say where’s your list? The list rules. The list keeps us sane. The list is why we get a yearbook, newspaper and broadcast done.
The list=success. I don’t know why I’ve avoided that strategy in every day life.
My friend Mary makes a weekly goals list and posts it on her blog. She almost always meets those goals.
I don’t know if I want to go that far with my daily life list, but it’s a cool idea.
Back to DH: over the years some of my spontaneity has rubbed off on him. I don’t know that he’ll ever be ok with waking up on a Saturday, getting in the car and driving to an unknown destination (that would be so awesome!), but he does pop up with a “never mind the chicken, let’s go out to eat” every once in a while. 🙂
I think he’ll freak out a little if I start living an organized (of sorts) life.

6 responses to “The List

  1. I do love my lists. I break down my weekly list into a daily one, that I have on the fridge. I love crossing things off 🙂

  2. Lists are important! I don’t always stick to mine exactly (actually they’re very fluid lists), but if I didn’t have one I would absolutely lose it during the school year.

    I had never heard of the True Colors test, though. I found one online and took it just now, and apparently I need some help in the blue zone. I’m mostly Green, with pretty much even mid-levels of gold and orange, but I have a “blue” score of ZERO! Eek haha

    • lol, Brittany. I’m very Blue. 🙂
      My second color is Green.
      The True Colors test we did at yearbook camp had an extra component I hadn’t seen before. They told us what we thought of ourselves and then told how others often saw us. Then they told us how to work well with the different colors to help them find success. It was great!

  3. Why am I not surprised that you’re a blue person? Hehe

    So, this semester at the Wichitan there’s apparently going to be somewhat of a Rider Chronicle reunion. Brittney Cottingham and Rachel Bingham are going to be working over there. Should be interesting!

    And I’m thinking Kyler isn’t going to be the newspaper kid I was. He tried out for Rider tennis this week and made Varsity. I hear varsity tennis cuts into newspaper/yearbook time!

  4. Awesome on Kyler’s tennis, Brittany. I have athletes on staff, but rarely are they editors-in-chief.
    That’s cool about The Wichitan, too! (I hope)
    I know deadlines at The Wichitan are a bit different from deadlines at The Chronicle. You guys should have fun!

Leave a Reply

