Family, writing and summer oh my

I’m loving my book. It’s so different and fun. It’s pretty freeing to be writing with no real guidelines, just letting the story go where it will, where it wants, where the two main characters want it to go.
I’m reading Donald Maass’s Breakout Novel book, and today I read some pretty powerful words. He says examine WHY you’re writing the book. What purpose does it serve. What big thing are you trying to say. I realized I hadn’t thought of it like that, but once I did, it gave me more of a sense of urgency to make sure my book makes the statement I want to make. aIt helps keep everything on the page focused.

It’s 100+ and has been for a week. My air isn’t working right. The house is 85-86 between 3:30-5:00. My mil says call the air guys. But they’re expensive. And DH doesn’t want to for a lot of reasons. I told him he had this month to make it work, but then we were calling if we need to. I probably should’ve made it a week instead of a month! On the bright side, I went to Aqua Latin (Zumba in the water) today from 5-6. Fun!

DD fixed her own headlight and started taking the panel off her door. I didn’t even realize there was a way for regular people to take the panels off of doors. I told her it’s funny to see her doing that kind of thing because when she was little, I had to tell her to stay in her room because if she got up before us, she’d take the VCR apart, and her tapes. I didn’t tell her this, but once, she took her little kid rocking chair apart. I have no idea what she did with the screws. Back then, she never put stuff together once she saw the insides. 🙂 I’m really surprised she didn’t love dissecting. Of course, she’s a natural vegetarian, so maybe that played a roll there. She’s embraced her vegetarian self and gotten a lot healthier because of it. I love steak and hamburgers and fajitas. I don’t know how she does it. But she does.

It’s weird having her at home right now. She’s not a kid, but she’s not really a grown up either. She spent a year away, learning a lot, growing, scaring us half to death with some of those “kids have to learn” experiences. She’s spent the last 11 months at home finding her way again. It hasn’t been easy on either of us, but we’ve made it work. I know they say you’re supposed to push your chick out of the nest so they can fly. It’s hard to do that when the first attempt was a mix of amazing success and devastating failure. I know the biggest lessons come from the failures, but they’re so scary, so ridiculously frightening when you’re the mom, and you’ve been there, done that, when you want to keep them safe and secure and sheltered. She’s always been a “late developer.” We played Barbies and made mud pies two years past her friends. She didn’t like boys until two years later than everyone else. She struggled to write legibly and do math and dance…even though she loved dancing. Her entire life, she’s been two years off. The doctor said she’d grown out of that, and she has, but something about that two years thing has me even more terrified of letting her go. It’s time though. She’s not the kid who takes te VCR apart to understand how it works but then leaves the parts scattered on the floor, completely lost on how to put it all back together again. She’s the 20-yr-old who can open the hood of her car and put the headlight back where it belongs with a screw driver. Who can take the panel off her door, realize it’s too dark outside to really fix things, and put it back on. She’ll be ok. I hope. Regardless, I love her.

One response to “Family, writing and summer oh my

Leave a Reply

