Paperless and not a bit happy with publishers right now

For almost two years now, I’ve been paperless when it comes to books other than the ones I check out from the library or win from review sites.
I love eBooks. I’ll never switch back to bulky, space consuming, easy to lose, always need a booklight paper again.
So when I logged on to Fictionwise to get the followup to Gail Carriger’s Soulless, Changeless, I was surprised to see none of Carriger’s books were there. Especially since I bought Soulless less than a week ago.
I haven’t really paid all that much attention to the agency model shift in pricing of eBooks. Until now.
I hope the publishers can figure something out—soon.
It’s ridiculous to ask readers to pay more for eBooks than they do for paper books. If the book is a new release, set the eBook price to the new release price whether that’s hardcover, trade or mass market. If it’s been released in mass market, set the price at the mass market price point.
I don’t see the problem.
I do know more and more people are turning to eBooks. If we can’t get those books, we’ll find different books to buy. At least I did. That’s why I have two new Michelle Willingham’s and a Victoria Dahl.
It’ll be a shame if I can’t finish the The Parasol Protectorate series. But I’m not going to pay more for the eBook than I would pay for paper. I hope I’m not alone.

One response to “Paperless and not a bit happy with publishers right now

  1. Nope, you’re not alone, MaryBeth, far from it. And thanks for posting this. I also believe ebooks should be very affordable, never more than $5. Why? Because they can be made and sold at no cost to author/publisher. I know after writing my third book, How to Make, Market and Sell Ebooks – All for FREE. It was the result of searching for alternative ways to market my first 2 novels. The whole publishing industry is changing, and people like you and I are discovering our roles in this. Go Indie authors, but keep prices low.
    http://ebooksuccess4free.webs.com

Leave a Reply

