Sex-Ed

I posted this article about abstinence based sex ed yesterday to my Facebook page and ended up with several comments, all interesting to read.
We weren’t the only ones discussing the issue. I saw it all over the national media yesterday.
Most people I know agree the US has a serious teen pregnancy problem. More than any other Western nation. Obviously, what we’re doing isn’t working, but when schools try to take over sex ed, even to the point of handing out the birth control, that doesn’t work either.
The study the TImes article is based on is interesting because it wasn’t sex ed in schools that made any kind of difference. It was a combination of parental involvement and abstinence based sex ed from an outside source. And the kids were young, middle/junior high years.
THe study was promising because it took a group of girls who SHOULD have gotten pregnant–lower socio-economic, kids of teen moms who were kids of teen moms (generational) where teen pregnancy wasn’t really frowned upon and was accepted as a part of life–and showed it’s not necessarily a given.
I wasn’t a teen mom, but I was a young, unmarried mom. I didn’t suffer from lack of knowledge, and my health class in high school was girls only and VERY specific in its instruction on birth control. I was a freshman and I was very vocal about abstinence. By senior year I was partying, and that freshman girl was long forgotten. But birth control was for “bad girls,” and most adults I knew said birth control was bad because it would give you permission to have sex. I’m not sure how that works, really, but I think maybe that attitude toward birth control is the difference between the US and other nations. I’m not sure what I think about birth control and sex-ed in school. I don’t think showing pictures of disease and saying don’t do it works any better than Just Say No does to stop kids from smoking pot.

Leave a Reply

