Is it Still a Blog…

…if you write it in advance?
I discovered I could write my blog entries in advance and for the last month, I’ve blogged up to a week in advance about all sorts of topics. I don’t know what I think about this practice, really. It’s nice to use weekend time to put together posts about multiple topics, but there’s this lack of urgency. Years ago when I started this blog, I did it for several reasons.
•I wanted to work on my voice. Epic Fail on this one. Unless I’m passionate about the topic, I don’t really work on voice at all. I want to go back to the drawing board on that one.
•I wanted to chronicle the time DD was at school with me. Did that, and I love looking back at those stories. Those have voice. 🙂
•I wanted to update friends and family on my writing progress. Did that, but the progress has been slow to say the least this year. I do have a query out now. I thought blogging about writing would encourage me to write more. It doesn’t. At least it doesn’t the way I use this space right now. It is way cool that I’ve made “blog” friends over the years.
•I wanted to inspire my weight loss progress. This totally worked at first. (YEARS ago!) But then I quit Weight Watchers, and…see New Year’s Eve post for more on that.
•Blogs were relatively new and everyone was talking about them. Remember that time, way back, when everyone talked about Blogs revolutionizing the way we talk to each other. How if you wanted to be a writer, you HAD to have a blog. How agents and editors would look at our websites and a blog was one of the essentials?
•I wanted a place to tell classroom stories and to discuss education issues. When I do this, it’s relatively successful. One of my TAKs rants went viral. That was cool.

So yeah, those are the reasons I started the blog. I’ve added updates on good books I read. I won’t write about bad books unless they’re so bad I feel it’s my duty to warn people away. 🙂

Over the years since, I’ve seen the most successful blogs are thematic: Suzanne McMinn’s blog is fun to read because it’s neat to watch her transformation from normal city girl to real West Virginia farmer. Her photos are great, and she keeps us posted on her successes and failures. And Suzanne’s recipes are fabulous! The Pioneer Woman, Ree Drummond, has turned her city girl turned rancher’s wife, home school mom, self-taught photographer and cook extraordinaire into a NYT best-selling cookbook. She’s been on QVC and on a book tour. I’ve been reading her blog for years, and it’s fun to be a fly on the wall. I don’t know Ree, wouldn’t recognize her if I saw her in a local Wal-Mart, but I cried when her dog disappeared because I felt like she was a friend. Jill Shalvis leaves me in stitches as she shares stories of living in a world where bears showing up on the front porch are nothing new. Shalvis’s world is completely foreign to me, and yet, I read each blog entry because she makes me laugh. Shalvis’s blog voice carries over into her books. I think she must write exactly how she speaks. I follow several other blogs on a daily basis: Mary’s The Bandwagon, SBTB, Dear Author, and they all have their own place online. Some are meant for huge audiences, some for friends and family and all great to read in their own ways.
I’ll be experimenting with blog styles over the next few days. Let me know what you think.

Brian and MB outside the $5 slots at Harrah's Las Vegas. We didn't win there, but we DID playing poker!


Photo from last year’s Vegas trip.

Leave a Reply

