Dinner Out: a dilemma

Her rounded tummy was the first thing I noticed. It was hard to miss as she walked hand in hand with her husband past our booth at The Pioneer. He looked like the same old young but worn, rough around the edges cowboy I’ve seen a million times over the years living in the middle of cattle country. She was different. Her face truly glowed. A guest walked behind them, I’m not sure who he was. And I suppose I’d never paid attention to him if not for the next five minutes.
They settled into their booth behind us, and I smiled (I know it was wrong) as she struggled to get seated.
And then she spoke. I’m not sure what she said, but her husband told her to shut the eff up. And then he told her he’d kick her ass if she said another word.
Stunned I looked at my husband and waited for his reaction. He went on eating his enchiladas without a word. He hadn’t heard.
But the next time he did hear. Because once again, the man told his wife he was going to kick her ass if she didn’t stop bugging him.
We left the restaurant without saying a thing to anyone, and I was left wondering was that the right course of action?
I don’t know those people, and the man was a jerk, but he wasn’t hitting the girl. If he had, I would’ve called the police. I’m not sure what DH would’ve done, but I don’t think we would’ve simply walked away.
The girl at the booth never even seemed fazed by the man’s abusive language. And neither really did the friend.
I don’t know what the right answer there was. But I feel pretty confident walking away without saying a word wasn’t it.

One response to “Dinner Out: a dilemma

  1. OMG. I would have had no idea what to do, either.

    Yesterday at breakfast, three men were at the next table, and one man was pretty angry, speaking sharply to one of the men and using the f-word and g-d- quite liberally, despite the fact there was a kid at the next table. I didn’t know what to do then, either. Ugly feeling, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

