deadline part 2010

(aside–so strange that 2010 is NEXT YEAR! I used to use that date all the time in my papers for school for a date that was so far off in the future anything was possible!)

So we’re working on deadline in yearbook and have been for the last two months solid. This week everything but the very last pages had to be done.
It’s not like English where you can just take a zero. If you don’t do the work, someone, some organization or sport or teacher or cause gets completely left out or someone else has to step up and try to salvage what’s undone.
In the past, I’ve had one or two kids who never got the work done on time, and I could talk to them or threaten the all powerful F or have the editors talk to them or post their names outside the door with a note that said something along the lines of when your yearbooks don’t come out until June, these are the students who missed deadline, and the work would get done. It might be last minute, but it was complete.
This year about five students on the entire staff consistently meet deadline.
The others don’t. And they’re totally okay with that. They’re not only okay with it, they often get mad if I call them on it. My request that they do heir work is just too much.
One girl missed her deadlines and on her grade sheet she said she deserved a high B because even though her layouts were a MONTH LATE, they did get done.
That attitude is the norm. And I’m at a loss for how to fix it.
When my staff fails, I look at it as a personal failure. What have I done to make this totally okay with them? What have I not done?
Next year the new grading policy will go into effect and I , for the most part, agree with what it says, but this failure to meet deadline thing is a real problem, and I’m not sure the grading policy won’t make that worse.
UGH!

2 responses to “deadline part 2010

  1. Honestly, I don’t think it’s just high school students. There’s such apathy EVERYWHERE this year. Two members of my staff have COMPLETELY checked out beginning this semester. I have frequent talks with a lot of professors, and students aren’t even “calling it in” this semester. They’re just plain not showing up. One of them got so tired of the tardies and lame excuses that he started locking people out of his class. Others are starting to treat their COLLEGE students like CHILDREN by making them turn their screens in the computer lab at the beginning of class because people won’t stop facebooking.

    It’s ridiculous. I tell people stories for the Wednesday paper are due Tuesday by noon. That’s REALLY lenient. If we did our paper ahead of time at all, they’d have to have them in over the weekend at the latest. I have people in the applications class who WORK for me for a grade showing up at 10:00 at night on a tuesday asking what they can do so they don’t fail since they’ve got a story due on Wednesday.

    My response the first few weeks was “here’s something you can do. Go in the student center and interview people.”

    Last week I was fed up. I told one person they should probably drop because there was no way Randy was going to pass them. I told another to take their failing grade for this week and come in earlier next week and I could give them something. Two weeks ago I called a meeting for all the applications students. There are 20 in the class. 2 showed up. The 2 that did are the ones turning in stories anyway.

    Honestly, I don’t know what I can do except assign stuff to people I can trust or else do it myself since I know it’ll get done. But writing stories, designing arund 6 out of eight pages every paper, assigning photos and stories to other people, handling billing and mailouts, I’m not sure I can handle a whole lot more without just going completely over the edge! I’m just glad I have the option of telling people to take an F for the week. You don’t. I have no idea how you get anything done when people just refuse to put forth the effort to succeed. They expect everythign to just be handed to them. A high B for no effort? I don’t think so!

    I’m not sure where this sense of entitlement comes from, but it needs to go away. I’d be a much happier editor if it did!

  2. Wow. I feel like maybe I should be grateful it’s not just in my classes. 🙂
    I can’t believe it’s happening at the collegiate level, too. I just don’t get it.

Leave a Reply

