DEAR KIDS

No, you cannot write an editorial stating all the reasons police should not hide around school streets and give tickets to the teenagers (and anyone else who may venture on school streets) daring to speed on their way to school or away from school. No, police are not profiling you. They are ensuring you and everyone else on the road around schools slows down, pays attention, and stays safe.
I’m sorry I hurt your feelings by laughing at what I thought was a witty satire.
I hope you will forgive me.
You are awesome, but in this, you are wrong. Slow down, pay attention, stay safe.

Your loving adviser,
Mrs. Lee

The above note brought to you by a teacher trying to figure out how to turn this into a teachable moment.

4 responses to “DEAR KIDS

  1. I’ve been fielding angry phone calls all week from administrators who are unhappy with the fact that *gasp* the school newspaper covered (and broke the story) that the assistant director for international services and the custodial foreperson at MSU were BOTH arrested with crack cocaine (the first with a KILO of it) in less than a two week period of time.

    Shocker, right?

    I did get to interview Soledad O’Brien tonight though. That was pretty cool 😀

    OH. But a news applications student turned in an editorial/op-ed piece to me the other day. I assigned it as a news story about the economic stimulus plan and how it will affect students. She made it into a column. I asked her how she was an authority on the economy and she looked at me like I was crazy. I asked her where her sources were and she said — and I quote — “I needed sources?”

    I think I blinked at her for a whole minute before I could even speak again.

  2. Wow. Good for y’all for breaking the story. Why in the world would admin think that needs to be kept quiet?! TRANSPARENCY is key to trust!
    UGH on the column. Last month The Chronicle had FOUR pages of op/ed turned in, 1 of news. We’re on bootcamp now.
    People think it’s easier to write op/ed. What they don’t realize is GOOD opinion pieces are far more difficult than news. On a bright note, this month’s paper has more news than op/ed. 🙂

    Hope you’re having fun! The adrenaline rush of breaking a big story is like none other!

  3. Two of my former students have been killed in car accidents. One, just last year. Although I had her in sixth grade, she was a senior in high school with her entire life ahead of her. She tried to run a red light, speeding too fast, and wasn’t wearing her seat belt. Her sister, and the three others in the car, thankfully were wearing theirs. They survived; she didn’t. The following day was her 18th birthday. I just can’t even imagine her mother’s grief, but I do hope you were able to make this editorial into a teachable moment. The scariest thing about teenagers driving is their belief that they are invincible and nothing can touch them. Sadly, it’s sometimes fatal.

  4. no, I wasn’t ale to actually turn it into a teachable moment. They still fully believe police hiding in alleys around the school is profiling. Not all of them, but enough of them. UGH!

Leave a Reply

