Change

My principal announced yesterday that he’s retiring at the end of this school year. I’m sad. He’s been such a strong advocate for teachers and for my campus. A long time ago an older friend told me to always remember that principals come and go, but teachers are the ones that make a campus. At the time, I agreed with her. Today, although I see her point, I’ve decided a school can only be as strong as its leader. I hope we get another strong leader.

4 responses to “Change

  1. Oh no, that’s sad!

  2. It is! But he’s certainly earned his retirement. I LOVE my job, but when I can retire, I’m hitting the road. 🙂

  3. I hope y’all don’t wind up with someone who wants prior review though. That wouldn’t be fun at all.

  4. I’ll have to make sure to keep an open dialogue, invite him or her into the newsroom to talk to the kids about what they’d like to see and to hear what the students want and expect.
    So far I’ve had two great principals. HOPEFULLY that continues. 🙂
    MB

Leave a Reply

