Update plus vent…

From CNN: There are more new cases of Americans infected with HIV, the virus that causes AIDS, than previously believed, the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention said Saturday.
SO how come my university, in small town Mid-West/South-West America, that HAD free HIV testing on campus when I was there 20 years ago AND encouraged testing over 20 years ago no longer offers the service? In fact, if you want anonymous testing in my town, you have to go to the Health Department. And my town has a HELLACIOUS teen pregnancy problem which means unprotected sex is taking place on a regular basis, and like I tell my students, in this day and age, a baby is the LEAST of your concerns if you’re having unprotected sex.

Vent over

Que the Rocky theme. That’s the sound I head as I finished my toe walk on crutches from my bedroom to the living room tonight after my PT exercises, which I did on my own for the first time sans brace. I had to take a pain pill afterwards, but I DID IT!!!! I’m semi-comatose now. I gotta get on this. In two weeks, I’ll be starting in-service. In three, I’ll be teaching. YIKES.

Leave a Reply

