Writing Group

My local RWA chapter meets this week. It’s the first meeting of the summer and I’m thrilled. My group is small, but it’s special. Our speakers always comment on the excitement, the energy, the support. That support has certainly helped me over the last few years.
This meeting will be different. One of our members lost her husband last week. The woman, Linda Broday, is one of the most amazing women I’ve met. She’s published, but that alone isn’t what makes her amazing.
Linda was diagnosed with MS a few years ago, before she was published. Her eye sight started failing and finally the doctors figured out what was wrong.
She could’ve stopped writing at that point and everyone would understand. Instead, she wrote a story with a heroine who goes blind. Two of her books have won Nation Readers’ Choice Awards, even though they’re westerns, even though westerns supposedly aren’t selling.
Every once in a while I get discouraged about a story or a rejection or a school deadline that’s kicking my butt. Inevitably, Linda will post something to our local group loop and I’ll remember what real dedication to the craft is.
I can’t wait for Saturday!

Leave a comment