Movies

Next to reading movies are probably my favorite way to pass time.
I spent all day with my writing group so I watched The Terminal tonight. The movie had tons of great reviews and I’m a big Hanks fan, so I was looking forward to it.
It wasn’t that great. The acting was wonderful but the script just lacked, well, a lot. I wanted to believe it. I wanted to love it. But in the end it was just so-so. I think a big part of that was because it seemed like the writers wrote from scene to scene without any real continuity or flow. I guess if it were a book and I were the editor I’d call it episodic. Of course it was a hit in theaters and obviously WASN’T rejected, so what do I know? 🙂

One of my CP’s showed me a new book she bought. it was almost my exact plot from a book rejected a couple years ago for being unbelievable only hers had a high concept spin. This published book is about a town bought on e-Bay. My land developer just bought land in the small Texas town the normal way. 🙂
Hit home once again the reality that there’s no such thing as an original plot so the voice better be amazing. I hope I’m getting to that point in my writing. And actually after looking at the back cover flap of the book my CP bought I saw how the author worked to put a slightly unusual spin on several of the elements. Made me see the importance of digging a little deeper when I do plot.

I’m working on my next Women’s Fiction right now. It’s gritty. I’m experimenting some with the story telling. The opening is all back story, but it’s essential to the book, essential to all parts of the story. I tried writing it in traditional novel format but it was drawn out, slow. In the middle of a scene I saw my heroine sitting on a front porch looking out on a dusty road. She was older and somewhat content and totally different from what I writing and she was telling me her story. It was awesome. I could see her so clearly. So I deleted what I’d written and told the backstory in a three page first person prologue. When she was done talking it was time for the NOW story. I moved to third person.
I have no idea if this is going to work but I’m going to try it out.

Leave a Reply

