New Year!

Cousin Janet was everything I wanted to be as a kid. I remember watching her at family reunion when I was a kid. She was in the back of a pickup truck, her long dark hair blowing in the breeze, a dark swimsuit with a crisscross rope front closure making her look a little like Barbie and a Dallas Cowboys cheerleader in one. She was loud and funny and gorgeous and sexy. As a thirteen-year-old who was unfortunate enough to be in pretty plus (God, who was the IDIOT who came up with that anyway?!) sizes, I knew she was everything I wanted to be. When my mom tut-tutted and said something about being ashamed, I KNEW Janet was who I wanted to be. She lived out loud.
I whimpered. (Okay, so I was thirteen, but I still wanted to roar.)
Yesterday coming home from Grandma’s, I was thinking about resolutions and that image of Janet flashed in my brain as real today as it had been the day it happened. While my whimper days are long gone, I still find myself letting hours go by, wasted forever. I resolve to embrace life, to live out loud, just like Janet did way back then.
I resolve to write something every day. That discipline is my big writing goal this year. It’s what I’m going to work on in the Uber-Challenge on Jo Leigh’s website. I resolve to get my house in some sort of order. I moved into my MIL’s house a long time ago. She was gone, but I’ve never really claimed this house as my own. This year, I’ll start changing that. I resolve to work at building up my daughter instead of griping all the time. And of course, I resolve to eat healthy and work out at least 30 minutes a day, five days a week.
Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

