cooking

My new WIP stars a hero who cooks. Lots. Right now he’s making an incredible dinner sure to drive my heroine crazy.
I’m not much of a cook, but I can make decent enchiladas and taco salad and awesome manicotti. That about does it for my specialties.
I’m not sure why really. Growing up I was surrounded by good food. The other day I was whipping up a batch of whole wheat waffles (mix, milk, egg, oil PRESTO!) and I thought about my old favorite breakfast. The one Grandma would make for us if we begged and pleaded. Biscuits and chocolate gravy. I know it sounds strange but it was delicious. Way better than sausage gravy. Way better than chocolate donuts. And I learned a long time ago that the absolute best sandwich is peanut butter and dill pickles on white bread. I always have to tell my friends don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it. Inevitably I hear how great it is once they take the risk and give it a go. DD makes a delicious spaghetti sauce with tomato sauce and balsamic vinegar. It’s tangy and light. Pretty much perfect.
I’m trying to decide which of those favorites my hero will use on my heroine. I might have to spend more time in my kitchen researching. My family will definitely appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

