Resolutions

It’s that time of the year again. I’ve eaten a ton, slept plenty, spent way too much money, and it’s time to get back to reality.
My MIL read us her resolutions for the last 12 years today.
She still has the lists.
Pretty amazing to see how many of those resolutions she’s kept.
In those 12 years, I’ve probably gained and lost 200 pounds and a hundred dress sizes. The clothes in my closet prove it!
And my lists, yeah, I think I wrote them on the backs of envelopes. Except one. It’s still on the side of my refrigerator along with the swimsuit photo that used to inspire me but now just stays because it’s been there so long, I don’t know what I’d do without it!
This year I’m going to spilt my resolutions into mind, body & soul. The mind stuff will deal with my writing. The body with those ever-changing dress sizes. The soul with family and God.
I haven’t actually made the resolutions and I really have no idea what they’ll be, other than the lose 50 pounds one I do every year!
But it’s time to start thinking about them.

Top 10 reasons I can never be a stay at home writer.
10. Egg nog. The real stuff. Makes for interesting stories, but not very marketable. Not even sure it was English.
9. Naps.
8. Hallmark movies
7. Netflix
6. Eggnog
5. Naps
4. Messy closets that actually talk to you when you have more than a weekend off.
3. Law & Order (I’ve seen them all but it’s fun to have the “this is the one where…” war with dh)
2. Eggnog
1. Naps

Once upon a time I thought full-time writer was my dream job. I certainly write a lot this summer! But then Christmas hit. Dh is off work for the most part and writing seems almost a chore. WHY? How is it possible to write more, far more, when I’m working all day than when I’m not?
Oh yeah. Eggnog and naps.

Leave a Reply

