Category Romance

I love category romance. Always have. The first romances I read were those great Greek shipping tycoons and secretaries who won the lottery or sisters in the hospitals falling in love with doctors who’d lost all. I was thirteen and through those books, the world was mine for the taking.
Since then things have changed. I don’t read the books with those themes as often, even though they’re still published. Now I read a ton of Supers, IMs and Intrigues. I love these books because they almost always deliver an awesome story, but they do so in a condensed format. I can read a great book in a short amount of time. They fit my busy lifestyle.
I keep hearing people say category is dying.
I don’t think that’s the case. I thinks it’s shifting, and that’s not a bad thing.
Fewer books wouldn’t be a great thing for me as an author trying to break into that market, but it would probably be a good thing for the market as a whole.
Used to I’d go to the store and choose one or two out of 16 books. Now I go to Wal-Mart and there are rows and rows of series length books. If I were a new reader, I’d be lost. Shoot, I’m an old reader and I just discovered Virginia Kantra and Karen Templeton this year! Talk about missing some greats!!!
I hope the people out there saying category romance is on its way out are wrong. I hope H/S continues introducing me to amazing new authors and fabulous stories I can read in a short time. Stories about a million different things but which always deliver the promise: Happily Ever After.

Leave a Reply

