The importance of community

I entered two manuscripts in the Golden Heart today. After weeks of back and forth on whether or not I should, I decided I had to. It’s worth the chance and it’s worth it to see where judges place my work in comparison to others. It’s not the be all end all of publishing. But it’s a dream.
Plus I can’t imagine not being part of the nervous energy and excitement that takes place that day in March when finalist calls go out. I’ve never gotten that call, but it sure is fun to see friends get it. Way more fun when there’s a chance I could get it too. I don’t know why, but that’s the way I see it.

I’m glad I’ve found so many encouraging fellow writers out there. They keep me going when times are tough. They keep me focused when I lose sight of the goal.
I can’t imagine writing life without my CPs, eHarlequin, Catarom or the people who check in here and say woo hoo.
I can’t wait to be the published author lending support to another struggling writer working through tough spots in a manuscript, rejections, requests for revisions, etc.
It’s amazing to me that so many published romance authors give their time, efforts and energies to unpublished authors trying to find their place on the book shelf.

I better go write. Poor Callah and Riley are in a mess and they desperately need me to fix that mess. 🙂
I might try Julie Cohen’s mind mapping technique. It looks cool. Don’t know if i can make my brain work like that, but I think I’m going to try. 🙂

Leave a Reply

