The ever-changing characters

I’m working on my new story, determined to write through the suckage to find the excellence. To give the girls in the basement their chance to work. It’s been interesting. One thing I’ve noticed with Identity Crisis is how much my characters want to change. That fact was rammed home when I read Mary F’s blog and saw how concrete, how real, her heroine’s are. My new heroine Callah is somewhat real, but not absolute. And she keeps doing things that make me wonder who are you?!
This weekend our speaker Evelyn Vaughn talked about the importance of making the characters real. I’ve decided to write through this. To see where the story goes. To get it down on paper then go back and revise the heck out of it. I think I’ve figured out a major issue already. Callah’s not exactly strong when the story starts. She’s let people walk all over her. Co-dependence is her middle name. And she’s working on that. The fact that her life is suddenly in danger just forces her to work on it a little more than she planned.
I’m planning on a major writing day today. I’m going to let Callah call the shots, move the story where she wants it to go. I know the end. I know why things happen the way they do. But Callah needs some growing room and I’m going to give it to her.

Leave a Reply

