the best part about writing romance

There’s nothing easy about writing this latest book. I submitted it on proposal. The editor asked for it. I thought I’d spit it out in a couple weeks.
But that’s not how it worked.
This summer I wrote a ton. Several proposals. An entire single title. But I raised the bar. I know it’s a cliche, but it’s the truth. The last book I wrote was real. And it was deep. And it challenged me in ways I never thought possible. So now I’m working on a completely different type of book and I realize I’ve got a great story but for the last month I haven’t been able to write it.
It’s scared the heck out of me.
I don’t know if it’s the stress from work, the fact that it’s suspense and it’s plotted. That it has several bigger book themes running in this condensed word count. I don’t know.
I suspect it’s the last five years of rejections. 🙂
But tonight, I took the book back. At first I hated everything I wrote. But within a few Ozzy songs I was back on track.
I left my characters in an impossible situation. (Which I HAVE to rectify tomorrow!)
I love writing fiction.
It’s so much fun to create a heroine who’s discovering she used to be kick butt and she wants that back. And it’s a blast to write a guy who never thought much about himself but suddenly he’s in this hero position and he kind of likes it.
And it’s fun to recreate the emotions of falling in love.
The danger added to this one just ups the stakes.
I added a new character tonight. He was sitting at the diner when my couple walked in a month ago. He watched them awhile, then got up and left. He looked just like the marshal on Pale Rider (one of the best movies ever). He’d been in that diner for a month telling me he was a part of the story and I was trying to tell him to shut up–I only have 70k words. He needed to go away.
Stubborn man. He refused.
He was right.
I love it when stuff like that happens.

Leave a Reply

