Music makes the Books Go Round

Okay. Here’s the deal. I’ve really hated my heroine. I liked her to begin with, but somewhere around page 57 she became a victim. A whiny victim at that. I wanted to knock her off myself, but there’s some rule about not killing your main characters in romance, so I was stuck with this vapid creature who was driving me insane page after page after endless page.
And let’s face it. If she’s driving me crazy, the editor’s not going to love her either. I could see the writing on the proverbial wall: Dear author. Thanks but no thanks. Your heroine needs a spine. Your hero should’ve run off with the waitress in chapter one and let the bad guys take care of business. Yada. Yada. Yada.

Then for some reason I had a magic moment of clarity. Callah’s problem was Enya. Or maybe it was ocean waves and thunderstorm.
I’m not sure.
But I do know the minute I loaded Ozzy, Van Halen, Journey, REO Speedwagon and Heart onto my iTunes playlist and started working, Callah completely changed. This gal’s got guts. She’s tough. She’s sexy. And she’s more than enough woman to handle poor Riley. He’s a little on the frustrated side right now. It’s perfect.
The bad guys are definitely going down now. They’re going to wish they’d never even started this little game of murder and mayhem.
And that editor better get ready.
Because this book rocks. Literally.

Leave a Reply

